Differences Between DUI And DWI

Unlike most states, Oklahoma distinguishes DUI from DWI as a separate type of charge. The only difference is your blood alcohol content (BAC). If your BAC is .08 percent or above, you will be charged with a DUI. If it is between .05 percent and .079 percent, it is considered a DWI.

This distinction is important because a DWI has milder consequences and is more difficult to prove. However, both types of charges are still serious.

Consequences could include:

  • Jail time
  • Fines
  • License suspension
  • Alcohol courses
  • Increased insurance rates

The most important distinction between DUI and DWI is that your license will be suspended as soon as you are arrested for a DUI. In the case of a DWI, it will only be suspended if you are found guilty.

When Is A DUI Invalid?

Plenty of defenses to drunk driving charges exist. Never assume you are automatically guilty. Our attorneys at Henry + Dow can employ a number of defenses such as:

  • No legitimate reason for pullover
  • Improper Breathalyzer calibration
  • Inaccurate Breathalyzer results
  • Inaccurate field sobriety test results
  • Unaware of intoxication
  • Situation necessitated driving

Our services are personalized to our clients so we will build a defense strategy that is best suited to your needs. We never back down from a court battle to earn our clients’ rights.

Set Up A Consultation Now

It is important to speak with a lawyer as soon as possible after arrest. Call 539-777-0289 or 405-605-0681 or contact us online to set up a consultation.

We serve the areas surrounding Tulsa, Norman and Oklahoma City.