Driving under the influence is a serious offense in Oklahoma. Motorists can receive a DUI charge with blood alcohol content above 0.08%, detected consumption of illegal drugs or while otherwise under the influence.
Before facing a court date, learn more about the potential penalties for Oklahoma DUI.
First-time DUI offense
For those who have no prior DUI history, penalties for a conviction may include:
- 10 days to one year in jail
- License suspension for 180 days
- Up to $1,000 in fines
Drivers younger than 21 will receive a DUI with any measurable BAC above zero. Minors will receive a six-month license suspension, fines of up to $500, and either community service or substance abuse treatment.
Second DUI offense
A second DUI in Oklahoma results in:
- One to five years in jail
- License suspension for one year
- Up to $2,500 in fines
Although some states limit the “look-back” history for a DUI offense to five or 10 years, Oklahoma laws review the person’s entire lifetime DUI history. Drivers younger than 21 with a second or subsequent DUI conviction can receive a 12- to 36-month license suspension, fines of up to $1,000, and either community service or substance abuse treatment.
Third DUI offense
For a third lifetime DUI conviction, the person could receive:
- One to 10 years in jail
- License suspension for three years
- Up to $5,000 in fines
Drivers can avoid jail time by taking a court-approved substance abuse disorder evaluation and attending a treatment program if indicated by the test results.
Ignition interlock device guidelines
Drivers who refuse a breath test or have BAC above 0.15% must use an ignition interlock device at their own expense for 18 months after the license suspension ends. This device requires the driver to pass a breath test before the vehicle’s engine will start. The IID period extends to four years for a second offense and five years for a third offense.
In addition, a DUI offender can apply for the Impaired Driver Accountability Program. This allows the person to retain a modified driver’s license with restrictions, including the use of an IID.